Searching for ways to be a better husband


Soon after I posted A husband’s discovery, I began to get a lot of visits to my blog by men looking for ways to improve their relationship with their wives. I found some of the searches to be quite poignant:

wow your wife, magic words for wives, nice things to tell my wife, how to improve my relationship with my wife, verses for husbands, words to explain to my wife how i love her

I’ve been married for fourteen years now and there have been many times that I’ve been looking for answers to those same questions. I don’t claim to be an expert, but I can tell you some of the things that have worked for me.

Lingamish’s list of magic words and nice things to explain to your wife how you love her:

1. Call her by name

She likes to hear you say her name. Not in frustration, or just when you’re trying to get her attention, but when you say her name like it is the most beautiful word in the English language.

2. Compliment her intelligently

Tell her exactly why you think she’s so wonderful. It’s fine to say she’s beautiful, but even better to tell her you love the way the sun shines in her hair. It’s fine to say she’s a good mother, but even better to say you’re amazed that she can get all the kids off to school in the morning. Make a habit of looking for things that your wife does that are great and then tell her that you noticed.

3. “I love you”

Grab her and give her a hug. Look her in the eyes when you say it. Catch her when she faints.

4. Never, never, never…

never, never insult her, make sarcastic remarks about her, pick on one of her imperfections. Instead affirm her. Your wife needs a lot more affirmation than you are giving her, so start building her up.

5. “What can I do to help you?”

You can lay on the flattery all you want, tell her that you love her more than the moon and the stars, but unless you get off your fat rear end and help her out, your actions speak louder than your words.

Leave a Reply

